top of page

a mother's day meal

First of all, from me and mine... .Happy Mothers Day to all the SUPERWOMEN out there.

For all of us out there who are quarantined today… a late last minute meal post for Mothers Day, because I’m all done with all the cooking and my own Mother is still holding a meeting in the living room so I thought I may as well upload this recipe whilst I’m waiting to actually eat it!

I hope you all appreciate your mothers like we are supposed to and I pray we become the mothers we are destined to be…

But till then, we are the ones who were fed so let’s feed.

For those of us who cook with love, here one for Mama…

VEGGIE COUSCOUS STIR FRY WITH LAMB RIBLETS AND BOILED CORN

Yield: 4 servings

Prep time: 15 mins Cook time: 1 hr Total time: 1hr 15mins

Ingredients:

Couscous, 1 cup

Lamb Riblets, 300g

Yellow bell pepper, 1/2

Green bell pepper, 1/4

Orange bell pepper, 1/4 *optional

Red bell pepper, 1/4 *optional

White Onion, 1/2

Scotch Bonnet, x3

Sazon seasoning, 1 tbsp

Thyme, 1/2tsp

Rosemary, 1/2 tsp

Salt, to taste

Grocery Shopping:

Shoprite

FOR THE CORN:

  1. Boil it and set aside.

FOR THE COUSCOUS:

1. Boil 1 bottle of nestle water or 75ml of water.

2. Once the water has boiled, pour into a bowl and add 2 cups of couscous. Add 2 tsp of salt, stir and set aside to sit for about 5-8 mins.

While you get on with...

3. Cleaning, slicing and dicing the bell peppers and scotch bonnets

Once your couscous has risen (we don’t want it to get too soft and soggy).

4. Drain the water and set the couscous aside.

Cook:

5. In a pan heat 2 tbsp of olive oil and fry the veggies and peppers. Then season with salt, 1/2 stock cube, mixed herbs, rosemary and sazon seasoning.

6. Fry at low heat for approx. 5 mins, tossing frequently.

Toast the couscous

7. In a separate pan, add 1 tbsp of olive oil or melt butter.

8. Increase the heat to high, add the couscous and flash fry in the pan for approx. 3-5 mins, using a spatular to stir frequently, then set aside.

9. Then add the toasted couscous to the fried peppers and stir constantly. Fry for 5-10 mins on medium heat until your desired texture is achieved.

FOR THE LAMB RIBLETS:

1. This was a brand new and perfect accident. Those tend to happen when I cook with love…:)

2. So I seasoned the lamb riblets with salt, stock cube mixed herbs, cayenne pepper and Sazon season. Using my hands I rubbed the riblets well.

3. In a large pot I added onions and scotch bonnets to sunflower oil and then added the seasoned riblets on low heat. I covered the pot and allowed the riblets to cook slowly for about 40mins to an hour, check and stirring frequently.

4. Once well cooked and fried I removed the riblets from the pot onto a lightly oiled pan, I then tossed the riblets in sliced onions and peppers before turning into a paper towelled plate and setting aside.

Serve as and when desired, you might be having your Mother's day meal before me at this point because my mums meeting is still very much on…. :-(

ENJOY !


bottom of page