top of page

fake away with chef o.g.

Some time ago the Chef was gracious enough to host a few of us for a 3 course lunch at he and his wifes home. He has been kind enough to share his recipes and thoughts with us too..

A while back I found out that Dami was a culinary fiend like myself and heard that he had been known to host dinners and lunches for his dearest and nearest. Being one of them (not) I persuaded Dami to host a bunch of us at his and his wifes lovely apartment in Chevron.

It was a very nice Sunday afternoon.

After the luncheon Dami was kind enough to provide us with some of his recipes and because they're all so yummy I knew we'd all want to know a bit more about the Chef. So, with no further ado...

Meet Chef OG

Name : DAMI OG

Age : Adult

Cuisine: Everything

Motto: Life is too short for boring meals

The palate teaser extraordinaire...

In getting to know the man behind the palette teasing, I asked a few questions...

So Dami, what got you into cooking?

I think it was a combination of being a lover of food with a sense of adventure, as well as being fiercely independent, I never wanted any woman too try to use cooking to threaten me, lol.

What dishes do you like to cook?

Everything. Yes I know that’s sort of a cliche response but it’s reality. While the dishes I make are 9.5 outta 10 geared towards the West; I’m not shy of delving into the oriental space.

With respect to dishes of our motherland .... let’s face it it’s either you can or you cannot. Thankfully I have my wife to compliment my weaknesses there.

Who do you cook for?

I know I’m meant to say my wife etcetera sooooo let’s go with that, lol.

To be fair she IS my chief taster so by default it is her I tend to cook for the most. Outside of that, mainly for people who appreciate good food and people like you when I'm forced.

What do you think about men who cook and the rumour that men can't multitask?

First of all, men who cook rock, said with absolutely no form of bias whatsoever.

On the real, I would have said it’s rare if you asked me a while back but now a days, more men are dabbling around in the kitchen so it’s less of an “oh wow” affair.

Notwithstanding, it still is a commendable feature, in men especially in this part of the world but the inability to multitask is a myth...don’t be fooled.

And lastly, what is the one thing you could say to encourage (Nigerian) cooks to to step out of their comfort zone and what would you advise they start with?

One word - EXPERIMENT!

Don’t be afraid and try new things. For example a while back, I went through a burger craze where I added all sorts of things to them; from avocado salad to grilled pineapple. The thought process was “heck it works on Hawaiian pizzas so what the hell. All attempts to convince a friend to try it was met with a steadfast “No, what’s wrong with you?”.

Truth be told, that was one of the best burgers I’d made and no I’m not tooting my own horn. That ish was bananas - well pineapple but you get me.

HAHA

As to what to start with, start with a familiar base and then jazz it up. Picking the “common” ones, perhaps cook potatoes in a manner you haven’t done before or a different form of rice such as risotto. There are tonnes of pasta dishes one can experiment with the key thing is you’re working with something there’s a general familiarity with.

Shout out to the Chef for his recipes and for sitting down and having a chat with me.

If you missed the 3 course meal, its not too late to catch up.

THE STARTER

JUMBO MEATBALL PASTA

THE MAIN

BREADED FISH WITH HERBED MASH GREEN BEANS AND CREAMY GARLIC SAUCE

THE DESSERT

CLASSIC CHOCOLATE MOUSSE

Enjoy !

fakeaway

x

chef og


bottom of page